Motor Vehicle Registration and Safety
Faculty and staff are required to register their vehicles only if they intend to park in parking lots which are reserved for faculty and staff. The registration of vehicles is free of charge. Access the vehicle registration form https://services.miu.edu/campus-security/car-and-bike-registration/
Currently, the University does not require students to register their vehicles.
Driving on campus
Please drive carefully and observe the campus speed limit (15 mph). Always yield to pedestrians, and always follow the Motor Vehicle Code of the State of Iowa. (Consult with the Campus Security Office or Fairfield Police Department for the Motor Vehicle Code of the State of Iowa.) Come to a complete stop at stop signs. The fine for failing to do so is $25.
Please observe and adhere strictly to posted parking and no-parking areas. There is no parking on or in front of drives or walkways, entrances to walkways, loading areas, dumpsters, fire hydrants (within five feet on either side), or anywhere that parking would block traffic. Parking is not allowed on sidewalks or grass at any time, even for loading or unloading your car.
Vehicle parking violations are subject to fines and/or towing at the vehicle owner’s expense. The fine for parking on the grass is $100.
There are some restricted parking areas. If you do not have the appropriate sticker for a specific parking spot, or if the lot is not designated for student parking, it should not be used even for temporary parking. Please consult with the Campus Safety Office for designated student parking lots and student parking spaces.
If you fail to observe parking or traffic guidelines, you may receive either a warning or a fine, the amount of which will be determined by the situation and the severity of the offense. With three or more violations you may lose your driving privileges on campus, and your vehicle may be towed at the discretion of the University, at the owner’s expense.
Vehicles found to be in violation in the following areas will be towed, or suspension of driving privileges may occur, regardless of the number of previous violations:
- parking in handicapped areas without appropriate permits in the vehicle
- speeding through an intersection or on roads close to playing areas for children or their school buildings
- failure to stop at stop signs (a full two seconds)
- other violations of a critical nature determined at the University’s discretion.
All fines must be paid within seven days. A payment envelope is provided with the citation. Individuals with unpaid fines may not receive copies of their academic transcripts, or, if they are graduating, their diplomas.
Appealing Parking Fines: If you wish to appeal fines assessed for any violation, you must file a written appeal within seven days of issuance of the fine. Written appeals may be sent via email to firstname.lastname@example.org, or brought or mailed to Campus Safety, Foster Hall Room 340.
Disabled Vehicles: If your vehicle becomes disabled in a no parking zone, it should be moved within an hour or two, or it will be towed at the vehicle owner’s expense. Please call Campus Security at ext. 1115 to advise them of the situation. If it is parked elsewhere, it should be repaired within two weeks. No disabled vehicles may be stored on campus. All vehicles which need repair or are inoperative for more than 14 days are considered derelict vehicles.
Storing Vehicles on Campus: If you leave without your car for more than two weeks, please tell the Campus Safety Office where your car is and how long you’ll be gone. Please also ask someone to be responsible for your car.
Driving for the University
To operate a University-owned (insured) vehicle, or a private vehicle on University business, first contact the Campus Safety Office for guidelines and requirements at (641-472-1143) or ext. 1117 (641-472-1117).